With Albums, you’re able to add up to 10 images to a private photo album, which you can then share with a select group of people on Grindr.
Once you’ve shared your Album with someone, they'll be able to see all of the content inside. You can unshare your Album with anyone at any time. Your Album is designed to add an extra layer of control and privacy over your shared images.
Editing your Album
To access your Album, first tap on your profile image in the upper-left hand corner of your cascade. Then, tap My Album.
You can add images to an Album by:
- Taking an image from your device,
- Uploading images one at a time, from your device’s image library; or by
- Uploading images that you’ve previously sent to other people via chat conversations. We call these “previous uploads,” and they’re the same images that appear in your My Media section.
Note that after you’ve added new images to your Album, everyone you’ve shared it with will see a gold ring around your avatar when previewing your Album. This ring indicates to them that you’ve added new images they haven't seen, and will remain for them until they view the Album again (or, until you remove their access).
If you’d like to remove an image from your Album, tap the trashcan icon on the image you’d like to delete. You can also remove images while previewing your own Album. Just click on the three-dot icon on the right-hand side of your screen and then tap “Remove from Album.”
To reorder the images in your Album, long press on an image and drag it to your desired placement.
Sharing your Album
All Albums are shared through chats – so, to share your Album with someone, you’ll first need to start a chat with them from their profile. Next, click on the camera icon to access your My Media section. Tapping on the “My Album” icon here will prompt you to share your Album with the person you’re chatting.
Once you share your Album, it will appear as a message in your chat history available to both you and the recipient. They’ll be able to view your Album directly from your conversation, as well as from your profile, and the Albums tab in their inbox. Sharing your Album will also send them a push notification if they have notifications enabled on their account.
New photos added to your Album will be viewable by anyone you’re actively sharing your Album with. All Album recipients will see a gold ring on the Album thumbnail when an Album has new content that they have not yet seen (see more above).
Currently, you can share your Album with up to 500 people. There is no limit on how many Albums you can receive from other people. Premium subscribers can access all of the Albums they’ve ever received, but if you're using a free account, you'll only have access to the most recent Albums you've received.
You can see who you’re sharing your Album with by navigating to the My Album page, and tapping on “Shared with.” You can also see if you’re sharing an Album with a specific person by opening your chat conversation with them, and clicking on the camera icon. The My Album icon will say “sharing” if they currently have access to your Album.
Though you can share your Album with anyone at any time, you should always ask for consent first. We've designed Albums with consent in mind, by blurring Album previews and ensuring Albums must be accepted by the recipient. Still, unsolicited Album sharing may cause others to report your profile, and could ultimately lead to your account being banned.
Unsharing your Album
There are a few ways to unshare your Album with other people. After navigating to the My Album page, tap on “Shared with” to see a list of everyone who currently has access to your Album. To rescind Album access, select each profile you wish to remove, and then tap Stop Sharing.
You can also unshare your Album from within a chat conversation. Head to your Media – if you’re currently sharing your Album with them, you’ll see this indicated here. Tap on My Album, and then select Stop Sharing.
Once you stop sharing your Album with someone, they will immediately lose access to your Album and all of its content. They will not receive a notification that you’ve unshared with them, and the preview of your Album in the chat conversation history will be locked and no longer clickable.
Note that deleting the Album message from your chat conversation history will not unshare the Album itself (for Unlimited accounts, the same is true of unsending a message). The Album will remain shared, and the other person will still be able to access your Album from their chat conversation history.
If you block someone, they will no longer see your profile – including your Album or any of its contents. Unblocking this profile in the future will not automatically reshare your Album with them.
Albums shared with you
Currently, you can share your Album with up to 1,000 people, and there is no limit on how many Albums you can receive from other people.
However, if you’re a free Grindr user, you’ll only be able to view the 5 most recent Albums you've received - any older Albums will be unavailable (indicated by a locked icon).To view an older Album that's been shared with you, you'll first need to remove a more recently-shared Album, or ask someone to unshare theirs with you.
You can view all that Albums that have been shared with you by heading to your messages inbox, and tapping on the Albums tab. Here, you’ll also find a link to preview your own Album.
If you no longer want someone’s Album to be shared with you, go to your Albums tab and long press on the Album you no longer wish to receive. On iOS you can click “Remove Album” to remove one at a time. On Android you can select multiple Albums, and tap on the Trash icon, and then confirm “Remove Album(s)“. You can also block their profile or ask them directly to unshare their Album with you.
It is not possible to capture screenshots of anyone else’s Album content, even if they’ve shared their Album with you.
Album replies and reactions
Once an Album has been shared with you, you’ll be able to reply or react to specific Album content.
When viewing an Album photo, you’ll see a text field appear at the bottom of your screen. Each response you type into this field will be delivered as a new message to the Album owner in your chats with them (responding to multiple photos, or the same photo multiple times, will send multiple messages).
Next to this text field, you’ll also see a flame icon at the bottom of each Album image. Reacting to an Album photo by tapping this flame icon will also notify the Album owner that you’ve liked that particular photo. Keep in mind that reacting to an individual Album photo is different than sending a Tap.
Premium Album features
If you have a Grindr XTRA or Unlimited subscription, you'll be able to surface other profiles with Albums by using the “Albums Only” filter.
XTRA and Unlimited subscribers are also able to access to all Albums that have been shared with them (as long as the Album owner continues to actively share). We’re currently experimenting with this feature.
Reporting an Album you’ve received
As with all images sent directly via chat, Album content must abide by our Community Guidelines to help keep Grindr a safe and healthy space for everyone (when reviewing these guidelines, keep in mind that Album content is classified not as “in the grid,” but as “everywhere else”). Generally, the same content is allowed in Albums that is allowed in images sent privately in chat.
We do not allow the following in Albums:
- Images of minors, even if they’re in the background or blurred
- Violence, weapons, offensive or illegal content
- Images of drugs (including implied drug use & drug paraphernalia)
- Spam, advertising, offers to buy or sell goods or services, or copyright photos that aren’t yours
If you see an Album that goes against our Community Guidelines, please report the profile. In your report description, let us know that your report involves Album images and our moderation team will review.
The content in your Album will be retained as long as your account is active. For detailed information on how long we retain data, please see our Data Retention Policy.